Queen V Chronicles

Welcome to my world…

Day Two-Singapore-I Found Heaven at Pure Gym

Screen shot 2014-09-20 at 9.48.59 PM

I woke up in a hot and humid haze in my teeny tiny room with the funky aroma. That morning, I had to wait 2 hours to use the shared bathroom. When I finally seized the opportunity, the stench of the revolving door of families and tourists using this bathroom was to overwhelming for my eyes as I attempted to brush my teeth. My shower was skipped and I finished brushing my teeth in my room (not before I took a dirty mirror selfie). Today’s agenda was light…

Screen shot 2014-09-20 at 9.58.42 PM

The night before, my home girl Earlene said that we would workout out after she got out of work, so I had all day to chill on my own. What did I do? Shop! and got familiar with my surroundings.

5:00pm rolled around and met up with Earlene and her good friend Keith at Pure Gym (which was only a 5 min walk from my place). As we walked  up the escalators, Earlene shared that Pure Fitness is one of the best Gyms in Singapore (biggest understatement of the year). As we headed towards the front desk, I spotted a bowl of fresh apples. “They’re free for all gym members, so please take one” Earlene said. I obliged by taking two and start munching away.

As she is signed herself in, she handed me a temporary membership card and said “Vicky, this will get access to the gym for the next 7 days.” Literally fighting back tears, I said “Earlene you are the best! You saved me!  I refuse to a shower at the shared bathroom at my place.” She laughed and then proceeded give me the tour  of the gym. She showed me the kitchen were they had free fountain drinks, tea and coffee and speciality sport drinks (for purchase). Right next to the kitchen was a sleek lounge area, free wifi,  4 iMacs and comfortable modern coaches and love seats (oh and of course it had state of the art gym). This place was HEAVEN!

Earlene and I made it into the ladies room and there was a huge shelf of Pure T-shirts, shorts, and socks folded nicely and organized by size. “All you have to do is bring your work out shoes, they’ll provide everything you need here” said Earlene. Amazed, I grabbed my clothing sizes and got dressed.

After, we left the locker room Earlene asked  “Vicky,  I have a personal trainer do you mind working out with her or would you prefer working out on your own?” I told her, “Of course, I don’t mind. Personal trainers are expensive, I’ll never pass up a chance to work with one.” Soon afterwards, her personal trainer (I can’t remember her name, but she was lovely) comes over, we do the introductions and our workout commences.

We warmed up  with 10 minutes of cardio on the elliptical, side crunches with medicine balls and lunges. I am killing these exercises, all of a sudden I found myself trying to motivate Keith and Earlene.  In between reps I am saying things like : “Don’t give up!You can do it!” “Just two more!” etc. In between exercises, Earlene and I began to discuss our cultural differences. Earlene started it off by  saying “You are really strong…Singaporean’s typically don’t work out.”

“Whhhatt? How do you guys stay so trim?”

“We typically eat a healthy diet.”

At this point I am shaking my head “ American foods are filled with so many preservatives, fake ingredients and fat, I honestly don’t know how the average American can be slim without some type of workout [or drugs].”

“Vicky, do you workout?”

“Normally I workout everyday other day but, since I knew I was coming here, I wanted  a banging body so I have been working out twice a day.”

After more pleasantries, we continued our workout using bar bells, aerial straps, and other strange weights to strengthen our whole body. Honestly, it was the best experience of my life. After our hour long training session, I took a sip of water by the water fountain. Underneath the fountain was a small mini fridge of neatly rolled washed clothes. I grabbed one and it was moist. Once I wiped my face, I realized that this wet cloth was infused lemon essential oils. HEAVEN!

Screen shot 2014-09-20 at 11.22.06 PM

Side note: Whenever I feel anxious, I partake in aromatherapy. Without sounding weird, I sniff lemon oil or use lemon hand-soap/lotion/perfume, try it. I didn’t pack anything that was lemon scented and my room was  definitely stressing me out.

Afterwards I used the steam room and took the longest shower known-to-man. Pure Gym = HEAVEN! (NO THEY ARE NOT PAYING ME TO WRITE THIS BLOG)

Screen shot 2014-09-20 at 9.44.08 PM

After picking up Earlene’s sister, we all ate a famous Singapore restaurant called Long Beach. I had the chance to try chilly crab, black pepper crab, fish with this eyes still on it (ewwww) and other awesome foods I can’t remember the name of. I washed all of that down with 3 glasses from freshly juiced Apple juice! As we left the restaurant, we made dinner plans for the next day and I went home clean and well fed. Still jet lagged I didn’t fall asleep until 3 am, anxiously planning how I will entertain my self tomorrow before I meet up with my friends.

Stay tune for the next blog… believe me, it was a doozy

 

 

Previous- Day One – Singapore – Oh, I Ate The Chicken And It Was Good

 

One comment on “Day Two-Singapore-I Found Heaven at Pure Gym

  1. Pingback: Day Three – Singapore- I Accidentally Left My Common Sense At Home – PART ONE | Queen V Chronicles

Leave a Reply

Follow Me On Twitter

See Me On Instagram

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.

