Queen V Chronicles

Welcome to my world…

Cosplay – Chun Li from Street Fighter at Awesome Con #LoveIt

On Saturday, April 19th 2014, I attended the second annual Awesome Con  at the Washington DC Convention Center. This year I cosplayed as Chun Li! I can’t wait to tell you I executed this look and discussed what happened at the event.

 

Click here to read about my first annual Awesome Con experience. Let’s get into it shall we…

SF3_Chun-Li

Costume

For those of you who are interested in cosplaying as Chun Li, lucky for you, there are plenty of variations. Ranging from slightly modest to scandalous, different colors, as well as prices to fit any budget. Just Google it!

 

Chun Li Custom for purchaseI personally went with the sky blue version of the outfit because I felt the shiny blue costumes would be too “loud” against my dark skin tone. This version comes in a leotard so I didn’t have to worry about the wind or creepy men trying to sneak a peak (if you know what I mean). It also came with the hair accessories and the bracelets. In case you purchase an outfit that doesn’t come with these things, click here for DIY instructions.

 

I added a pair of dark pantyhose to my costume because the  weather was chilly and I wanted to make sure I didn’t freeze to death trying to be cute.

 

As for the shoes, Chun Li can be seen in white boots. Click here to view white boots you can purchase.  I knew if I bought a pair of white boots, I would never wear them again. So I settled on cheap pair of white high top shoes from HnM that cost me $15.

Screen shot 2014-06-15 at 1.06.02 AM

Queen V’s Make up [@QueenVProduction, @QVProduction Queen V Production]

Wrapping it up, I painted my nails a true blue color. As for my eyes, I took a shimmery blue eye shadow, blended that color with a brown flesh toned color, loaded up my eyelashes with mascara and top of my lips with some clear lip gloss. I am far from a make up artist, so check out this fabulous makeup artist creating a beautiful blue eye shadow look.

 

There you have it ladies and gentlemen my cosplay.

 

Queen V at Awesome Con [@QVProduction, @QueenVProduction Queen V Production]

The Event

The event started promptly at 10am, of course my friends and I showed up fashionably late (1:30 pm to be exact). We entered the grand convention hall where we were greeted by staffers, cosplayers and comic book geeks alike. Once we’ve reached the second floor (where most of the festivities took place)  the “Parade of Vicky” commenced. People are asking me to take pictures with them left and right and high-fiving people who passed by.

 

Awesome Con for me, was another excuse to dress up, act a fool, spend more time with loved ones and show support to my artist friends who had a booth (Special shoutouts  to Marc Adona and D from Tokyo 13 .

Queen V at the Tokyo 13 Booth [@QVProduction, @QueenVProduction, Queen V Production]

What really brought me to the event this year was Danai Gurira, the actress who plays Michonne in The Walking Dead . Unfortunately, I was too broke to pay for an autograph and picture (Lol, the security was making sure no one was taking unauthorized photos of celebrities). It was still an honor to be in the same room as her. Danai sat there in her pretty white peplum top; she seemed so happy to be there, greeting all of her fans. I just stood there looking at her in awe, day dreaming what it would be like to spend 5 mins with her. I would spend the first 4 minutes telling how much I love her and in the remaining minute I would ask “if Michonne was portrayed the exact same way in the comic book, would you still accept the role.” She seems so classy, I bet she would think twice. Eventually my friends grew tired of my stalking so we left.

ACDC_Danai_Post

ACDC_Danai_Post

Switching gears, I have always heard of men disrespecting women at conventions but that has never happened to me, until now. During the event, I was asked to be interviewed by some local online publication to discuss my experience of the con. After I wrapped up my interview and walked towards my friends I noticed a guy randomly video tapping me from behind. I was annoyed, but I didn’t think anything of it. As soon as I opened my mouth to brief my friends on the interview that had taken place, I noticed that same guy with his camera still rolling in my direction. Pissed off at this point, I put up my hand said “My man! So you are just going to keep recording me as I am talking to my friends?! If you wanted a photo with me, all you had to do was ask, but this is just creepy!” The man just closed up his video camera and walked away. You know what the messed up part is, 2 of my friends thought I overreacted! You guys, that totally messed up the rest of my day. #WhereDoTheyDoThat. Where is your “Con Etiquette”? I don’t care how outrageous people dress at these events, you do not record, or gawk at women without their permission. Many people who attend these events are friendly and have NO PROBLEM giving anyone the time of day, just be respectful and act like you have some home training. #ThatisAll

 

All in all, this was a great event and I will definitely come back next year with a new and improved cosplay for you guys to enjoy. I am thinking I’ll be an afrocentric poison ivy or Princess Leia.

 

Any suggestions? Let me know

 

Till next time

 

(Enjoy the pics!)

 

Screen shot 2014-06-15 at 1.20.00 AM

Chun Li and Friends at Awesome Con [@QVProduction, @QueenVProduction, @QueenVProduction]

Screen shot 2014-06-15 at 1.23.22 AM

Double Trouble at Awesome Con [@QVProduction, @QueenVProduction]

Screen shot 2014-06-15 at 1.26.22 AM

Storm, Batman and Chun Li Oh MY! [@QVProduction, @QueenVProduction, Queen V Production]

10013588_10152000923470598_3648712399243250320_n

My Soror and I [@QVProduction, @QueenVProduction, Queen V Production]

10250221_10152013005720598_1327281657351069560_n

My friends and I enjoying hot dogs across the street from the convention center [ @QVProduction, @QueenVProduction, Queen V Production]

4 comments on “Cosplay – Chun Li from Street Fighter at Awesome Con #LoveIt

  1. Island Traveler
    July 6, 2014

    Totally rocking awesome! Wish I can attend something like this. Super amazing!

  2. Frank
    July 21, 2014

    I was looking for this certain info for a very long time. Thank you and best of luck

Leave a comment