Queen V Chronicles

Welcome to my world…

Can We Talk About It? The Walking Dead – Season 4 Episode 12

Hello lovely readers. I have a feeling this is going to be a short review, but I’m not making any promises. I feel like by now, the producers of the show should know that fans have a short attention span and I wish they would quit dedicating a whole hour to select characters; especially when my main concern right now is Ty Ty (aka Tyrese), those kids, and C-Murder. I’m getting ahead of myself, let’s get on with the review.

Screen shot 2014-03-03 at 6.24.42 PM

It’s night time and thunder is roaring on the countryside.  Daryl and Beth emerge from the bushes and come across an abandoned car. She immediately tries to hot wire it with no luck. Hearing zombie moans, they both hop into the trunk of the car. The thunder gets louder and consequently it attracts more zombies to their area.

Daybreaks. Beth is the first to exit the trunk of the car, and he follows suit. They scavenge for more supplies; Daryl emotionlessly glances at Beth and walks away in silence.

Cue the intro music.

I Want a Real Drink!

Screen shot 2014-03-03 at 6.28.01 PM

In the words of Beth, they created a “suck-ass camp” using the supplies they took from the abandon car. Daryl killed, peeled and cooked a snake for dinner. Beth picks at her food and states that she wants a drink.

Now here is where I became frustrated with Beth. I understand that we all grieve  in our own way, but there is a time and a place for everything. She sounds like Bob. You know, the guy who risked his own life because he did not want to let go of the whiskey bottle and Daryl almost had to beat his ass because of it. Let me break something down for those of you who think I go too hard on Bob and Taylor Swift (aka Beth). There is a theory called Maslow’s Hierarchy of Needs. “This hierarchy suggests that people are motivated to fulfill basic needs before moving on to other, more advanced needs”. In other words, most people focus on survival needs such as food, water, shelter, air and safety before moving all the way to a self-actualized need of “spontaneity”. In this case, finding alcohol because you want it, not because you NEED IT. Throughout this whole show everyones priorities have been messed up and I don’t understand why.

Screen shot 2014-03-03 at 6.48.51 PM

I hate to compare her to Carl, but I will. Carl had his first sip of wine at the CDC and thought it tasted nasty. He had to shoot his own mother, he thinks his baby sister is dead, and has to deal with his crazy crippled father. You don’t hear him crying and dragging Michonne around town talking about… “I need a damn drink.” Moving along.

I’m Rich B***H 

Screen shot 2014-03-03 at 6.21.43 PM

“Golfers like to booze it up, right?” says Beth as she walks into the Country Club. Once they make it inside they notice dead bodies on the floor and hanging from the ceiling; the place is a complete mess. Both of them get their hands on a flashlight and start to scavenge. Beth finds a novelty Washington, DC spoon and puts it in her pocket. Daryl on the other hand finds a bag of money and jewelry and puts it into his backpack.

Screen shot 2014-03-03 at 6.22.31 PM

Fast-forward, they make their way through the building and she finds new clothes. A grandfather clock begins to ring, summoning the zombies, and Daryl goes a little crazy killing them. They eventually find a bar and Beth says “We made it! I know you think this is stupid but I need to do this. All I want to do is sit down and cry, but I can’t. Beat up on zombies if you need to.” She pours herself a glass and cries. Daryl feels bad for her and now they’re on the hunt for better booze.

There’s No Place Like Home 

At this point in the episode Beth has been trying to guess Daryl’s occupation before the zombie apocalypse. He brings her to an abandon home and locates the stash of moonshine. Beth asked him, if he would like to join her, he declines in starts to reminisce about how this place reminds him of the house he grew up in. He accepts the drink.

They start playing the “Never Have, I Ever” game and I’m already done with this scene. Beth was giving me  “Opps, I did it again”- Britney Spears – I’m still in high school tease and Daryl is giving me an R Kelly – “My mind is Telling me No” vibe. Through this game we found out that Daryl has never left Georgia, has gotten drunk and done something he regretted, has never been on vacation and he has never been in jail.

Screen shot 2014-03-03 at 6.22.42 PM

At this point Daryl gets up and takes a piss in the house. EWWWWW!  He makes a lot of noise and screams ” I’ve never eaten frozen yogurt, I never believed in Santa Claus, I’ve never relied on anybody for anything, I’ve never sang in front of a big group and I never pretended like everything was a big game and I never slit my wrist for attention!” Wow! Shots fired!! Moving along…

Here’s when things get even weirder. He grabbed her and tries to force her to use his crossbow to kill a zombie and she screams “stop!” She breaks away from him and stabs the zombie in the head.

Screen shot 2014-03-03 at 6.22.59 PM

We find out that Daryl is still harboring feelings of inadequacy because of the loss of Sophia, Hershel, and felt like he could have done more to stop the Governor. He cries and she hugs him from behind. It was a very touching moment.

There Aren’t Enough Corn Flakes in the World That Could Have Predicted How Corny That Ending Was 

Time passes and they had the chance to sober up a little, in order to have a heart to heart on the porch. Daryl says its time to go back inside and Beth suggests that they burn the house down. They play a sappy redneck song; and we witness them happily pouring moonshine all over the house. They light the house on fire, throw middle fingers up and leave. Seriously? They could have waited to burn the house the next day. Now they’re both drunk in the middle of the woods at night. SMH

Let me know when you guys think of this episode. Until next time.

Leave a Reply

Follow Me On Twitter

See Me On Instagram

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.

