Queen V Chronicles

Welcome to my world…

Day 4- Rainy Day, Fifty Shades of Grey

ImageToday was very gloomy because it had been raining since last night. Since we are not familiar with our surroundings yet, my roommate and I were not sure what we could do to pass the time on a rainy day in Seoul, Korea. So we settled on grabbing a quick bite to eat at 7/11, the only establishment that is close to our dormitory that speaks English. I purchase a couple cups of noodles and some orange juice. By the time we had made it back we had both decided we were staying in for today, and I chose to catch up on some reading. Today I finished “Fifty Shades of Grey” by E.L. James.

First lets talk about what I liked about the book. Let me start off by saying that even though this book is popular, there have been many critiques bashing this book. And my philosophy is, “whatever gets people reading”. Did you know that 14% of Americans can not read? That figure is alarming to me, so whenever I hear mainstream books appealing to all ages whether the book is great or terrible, I still get excited because in order for you to form an opinion about a book you have to read it. But I digress. As I was reading the book I noticed that the language, tone, and overall structure of this novel was written as if it were a long blog, which was refreshing to me because it made for an effortless read, a quick page turner, and added to the intimacy of the book. I also enjoyed the fact it was written about a subject that I know absolutely nothing about. But as a reader I felt connected to Ana, the protagonist, because I know how it feels to be in love, I know how it feels to want to change someone for the better and act against the advice from a best friend. In fact this unique plot line forces the reader (i.e. me) to reflect on Ana’s struggles and my own personal situation. Some of the reoccurring questions I kept asking myself during the book is:

    • Has anyone( or have you) ever intimidated you to the point where you can not perform normal behaviors?
    • Would you (or have you) settle for love?
    • What is your stance on business and personal relationships? Can they mix successfully?
    • Would you have lasted as long as Ana did in her situation?

(Feel free to answer these questions in the comment section, I would love to read them)

Image

Secondly, I would like to share what I did not like about the book. First of all, the book contains many repetitive phrases such as “ his lips were pressed in a hard line”, “I bit my lower lip”, and my personal favorite “I miss my fifty shades”. It was like, OK WE GET IT, THATS THE NAME OF THE BOOK. Usually repetition is an effective tool in literature to emphasize a point, forecast, etc. But in the case of this book, I do not know if it was a literary tool or pure laziness for a lack of better words. (humbly my opinion)

All in all, “Fifty Shades of Grey” was a great book, I do recommend it to everyone above the age of 18. The forecast calls for rain all this week in South Korea and I have all three books on my iPad. Check back soon for a “Fifty Shades of Grey Trilogy” update.

Share your thoughts on the book.

2 comments on “Day 4- Rainy Day, Fifty Shades of Grey

  1. Teryn Hill
    July 2, 2012

    I’ve read the first book 50 Shades of Grey and overall, I wasn’t much of a fan. I liked the story line and the characters, but then again I liked Twilight so I knew I would. However, I did not like the writing at all. It reads very much like just what it is: fan fiction. I blame this problem more on the editor than the author. The author first wrote these stories as fan fiction. It was up to the editor to clean it up, and they failed. The characters are supposed to be American, but the say things like ” It was a really smart suit” instead of “sharp/nice/ etc.” or calling mail the “post”, “popping in” to places instead of stopping by. The author is British and a novice writer its up to an editor to see the errors in colloquiums and make proper changes. This didn’t kill the story, but it made it difficult for me to fall into the world the author built. Otherwise, I didn’t mind the crude language as its a crude topic. I wish the author had used more sophisticated imagery “my inner goddess?” was laughable and made the story more funny than I think was intended.lol I’m not sure I’ll read the other books. I can’t wait to read what you think of them:)

    • queenvchronicals
      July 2, 2012

      Hi Teryn!
      First: Thank you for reading 🙂
      Secondly: I agree with you 100%, I did find myself laughing at moment that I doubt were intended to be funny because of the language. And I agree, that the editors feel asleep when editing this book, if she write more books i hopes she lets that editor go. Also I agree that they could have called her “inner goddess” something else, because there were times in the book, where she seemed schizophrenic. lol
      I’ll definitely keep you posted!

Leave a Reply

Follow Me On Twitter

See Me On Instagram

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.

